Alsace

Heritage and history

Discover our heritage

Fortified castles highlighting the foothills of the Vosges, bunkers of the Maginot Line, the fortifications of Vauban listed a UNESCO World Heritage Site, just like Strasbourg and its Grande Ile ... In Alsace, more than elsewhere, heritage rhymes with legacy.

A clever mix of German and French cultures, the wealth of our sometimes troubled past is marked in the Alsacian countryside. So, enthusiasts of stones loaded with history, travel through our towns and villages!

And one cannot mention Alsacian heritage without mentioning the living heritage! You will be impressed by the know-how of craftsmen, in line with tradition with a touch of unsuspected modernity...

Did you know that in addition to its historically renowned places, Alsace also had… magical places? Constituting much older heritage, some places are imbued with legends: don’t miss them! The Roman temple of Mountain Donon will take you to a timeless universe and nearby, the majestic Mont Sainte-Odile, patron saint of Alsace, still intrigues with its Pagan wall...

L'Alsace

Châteaux forts soulignant les contreforts des Vosges, casemates de la ligne Maginot, fortifications de Vauban classées au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, tout comme Strasbourg et sa Grande Ile… En Alsace, plus qu’ailleurs, le patrimoine rime avec héritage.

Savant mélange de cultures française et germanique, la richesse de notre passé parfois troublé est marquée dans le paysage alsacien. Alors, amoureux de pierres chargées d’Histoire, parcourez nos villes et villages !

Et comment parler du patrimoine alsacien sans évoquer le patrimoine vivant ?! Vous serez émerveillé par le savoir-faire d’artisans qui s’inscrit dans la tradition en y insufflant un souffle de modernité insoupçonné…

Saviez-vous qu’en plus de lieux historiquement renommés, l’Alsace comptait également des lieux… magiques ? Patrimoine bien plus ancien encore, certains sont emprunts de légendes à découvrir absolument !  Le temple romain du massif du Donon vous transportera dans un univers hors du temps, tandis que, non loin de là, le majestueux Mont Sainte-Odile, qui tient son nom de la patronne de l’Alsace, intrigue encore avec son mur païen…